My First Banoffee Pie in 10 Steps 

Hi all

I’ve said before how I’m not very domesticated but this is such a simple recipe even I did t go wrong! I made mine in a disposable round metal tray because it’s easier to take to places for friends to try!

What you’ll need 

Base 

250g of digestive biscuits

100g of melted butter 

Topping 

300ml of whipping cream

1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

1 tablespoon of granulated sugar

1 teaspoon of chocolate dust

1 banana (to decorate)

Filling

4 bananas

1 tin of carnation caramel 

Step 1 – Crush your digestives in a mixing bowl, I used a wooden rolling pin to help me do this. A great way is to do this in a bag and smash with the rolling pin. (However me being me, I’m not that prepared and I forgot the bags…again.)

Step 2 – melt the butter either – in a small saucepan which takes generally less than a minute or the microwave again this doesn’t take long. Start with twenty second then add in ten seconds if needed. Once this is done add to the crushed biscuits and mix.

Step 3 – When you are happy that all the biscuit is covered, place into the base of your tin. Although I’m using disposable, you can also use a 20cm tin with a removable bottom. Flatten down as firmly and evenly as you can.

Step 4 – Place you base in the fridge while you chop the bananas. I used 4 and sliced then evenly at around 5mm wide. When I finished prepping the bananas I removed the base from the fridge again.

Step 5 – Place the banana slices on to the base starting from the outside working inwards. (Originally I put the caramel on first but this just made the biscuit stick to it too much)

Step 6- Add the caramel, carnation works straight from the tin! Cover the bananas evenly, add some more banana randomly and cover again. I had some banana left so just put this on top before the cream.

Step 7 -Whipping the cream. It may be simple to most but it’s something I’ve always struggled with. I put the cream into a mixing bowl with the granulated sugar and vanilla extract.

Step 8 – Whisk together for around 6 minutes. You have to do this until the cream starts to get thicker, this should hold on the whisk without running.  (This was like a full work out!)

Step 9 – Cover the top of the pie so far, with the whipped cream. For a final step simple on grated chocolate or a flake! I used cocoa powder to dust. I placed a heart template down then sprinkled around it. After I removed the template I filled he middle with a final layer of banana.

Step 10 – Chill in the fridge and …ENJOY


Leave a Reply

