My Gorgeous Boys

As I’ve been unwell recently, I’ve been spending a lot of time with two of my favourite boys. I have two Staffordshire Bull Terriers, Alfie who is 4 and pure white and Hugo who is almost 3 is a light brown colour. They are both just so loving its unreal.  Having time to spend with them is so nice for me, for them it means they are allowed to stay in bed for longer!
As I’ve watched them these past few weeks, I have noticed how they are with each other and how they both are in general.
Alfie aka Alfred- Freddie- Fred-Alfido-White boy-Alfinus, is the pure white staff. This is not good come summer time it  means the sun cream has to come out or he turns pink and its not very subtle either! He is a subtly stroppy pup, kind of high maintenance, he is like his daddy (my other half).He likes this his own way and lets you know when he wants something. He hates getting up early and refuses to get out of bed.
He’s the exact same in the evening at around 21:30 Alfie will sit next to the front room door and make groaning noises like he’s talking to you until you let him up to bed, which we do, only for two minutes later Alfie him to plod back down wanting to come back in in case he’s missing something. He’s also a very  jealous boy around Daddy too. He demands all of his attention all the time, when dads back from work he’s just super excited he jumps straight from the floor into his arms the second he’s through the door.
When he was younger he used to go to work with daddy in the van when he was self employed, however a change in circumstances meant this couldn’t happen anymore, now he suffers from separation anxiety – which basically means if we are going to work or going out or have to put him in his bed in the outhouse he will point blank refuse to eat and drink. He’s like no way… I’m letting you feel guilty for leaving me. The second we get back he will eat it all, unlike his brother – Hugo who isn’t phased at all.
Hugo Aka Huge – Waygo – Hugo woo go woo- Hugie – is my brown boy. He’s such a lovable rogue he just wants to have cuddles and kisses all the time, he’s more chilled out than Alfie yet tends to look to Alfie for advice sometimes. He loves his big brother a lot and you can see this in the little ways they look after each other and play together, their fave game together is to run around wild on the trampoline. Hugo tends  to let Alf win unless he’s been really been trying to dominate too much.
Hugo tends to be a lot more like me in ways. I’m definitely his master and I cant explain how good that feels, to have this beautiful little boy look up to and listen to his mum is amazing, he tends to not do this with dad. He’s more soft and snuggly with me and will happily lie by me for hours if he could. He likes to take care of himself is constantly grooming himself, I put this down to living with 4 cats too. He’s friends with all the cats as well where as Alfie tends to treat them more as an inconvenience, Hugo will play with them for as long as they will.
Hugo’s so happy with just a sock its unreal. Every time we get the washing out he’s praying we have dropped one on the way, its funny though because when he comes in from the outhouse while we’ve been at work, he will bark at me in a telling off way. The second you give him a sock or a puppy towel he’s quite and just wiggles a lot to let you know he’s happy now.
Together they are each others best friends- No matter whose more like who or who they listen to or don’t, At the end of the day they are both a huge part of our lives and our family. I didn’t have pets when I was younger and I didn’t actually understand how people could get so upset about and animal passing. I cant believe how wrong I was, I strongly believe if I didn’t have the love and affection of my boys right now I probably wouldn’t be half as far as I am now. This is why I just wanted to share what I was thinking about them.
They are Different but the same, They are Our Flurry img_6488
Alfie

Alfie

Leave a Reply

